National Standards Committee on Healthcare of Pakistan Standards and Quality Control Authority (PSQCA)


KARACHI (PR): National Standards Committee on Healthcare of Pakistan Standards and Quality Control Authority (PSQCA) approved Pakistan Standard on Primary Healthcare Facilities, Pakistan Standard on Secondary Healthcare Facilities and Pakistan Standard on Laboratory Biorisk Management under the chairmanship of Dr. Naeem uddin Mian, CEO of Contech International held on 7th December, 2012 at PC Bhurban. Mr. Pir Bakhsh Jamali, Director General, PSQCA was the chief guest of the meeting. 

Mr. Jamali on his address to the members of the committee highlighted the importance of Healthcare standardization and gave a way forward on awareness and implementation. Mr. Jamali appreciated the efforts of members of NSC and its related Technical Committees (TCs), Secretariat of NSC & TCs on healthcare and assured to provide full support from PSQCA and Ministry of Science and Technology. He also appreciated GIZ Pakistan for their support in standardization work on Healthcare Facilities. Finally, He advised NSC to make effort to include regulators from Sindh and Baluchistan in standardization works on Healthcare.

Earlier, Mr. Khawja Gulam Mohiuddin, Secretary NSC, presented the brief report of NSC activities on Healthcare. He told that NSC already adopted twenty four ISO Standards with respect to healthcare and three draft Pakistan Standards (primary, secondary and biorisk) have completed public enquiry stage. These standards are developed in accordance with Code of Good Practice for the Preparation, Adoption and Application of Standards. He also briefed the house about the two draft Pakistan Standards under the consideration of Technical Committee on Tertiary Healthcare Facilities. Later, Dr. Naeem uddin Mian, Chairman NSC, gave a comprehensive presentation on the scope and standardization activities of NSC and way forward to give awareness about Pakistan Standards on healthcare in four provinces of Pakistan. Further, Dr. Faisal Sultan, CEO, Shaukat Khanum Memorial Cancer Hospital and Research Centre, Lahore was unanimously elected as chairman of Technical Committee on Tertiary Healthcare Facilities. Finally, chairman thanked Mr. Pir Bakhsh Jamali, DG PSQCA, Mr. Masroor Ahmed Qureshi, JTA, Ministry of Science and Technology, Dr. Eva Tezcan and Dr. Alford Dube, Consultants from GIZ and members of NSC for their participation in the meeting.

Participants at 4th Meeting of National Standards Committee on Healthcare held on 7th December, 2012 at PC Bhurban.
From left (front): Mr. Masroor A. Qureshi (Joint Technological Adviser, MoST), Mr. Abdul Haleem Asghar (Joint Electronic Adviser, MoST and Chairman Technical Committee on Biorisk), Dr. Faisal Sultan (CEO Shaukat Khanum Memorial Hospital & Research Centre and Chairman, TC on Tertiary Healthcare Facilities), Mr. Pir Bakhsh Jamali (Director General, PSQCA), Dr. Naeem uddin Mian (CEO, Contech International and Chairman, National Standards Committee on Healthcare), Dr. Saira Siddique (Technical Advisor, GIZ Pakistan and Chairperson, TC on Secondary Healthcare Facilities), Dr. Shabina Raza ( Chief, Health Sector Reform Unit, KP), Dr. Ashraf Majrooh (Associate Professor, AIMC).
From left (behind): Dr. Shahzad Afzal (DDG, PSQCA), Dr. Shahid Yunis (Coordinator, Health Sector Reform Unit, KP), Mr. Abdul Waheed Memon (Deputy Director, Consumer Affairs, PSQCA and Secretary TC on Secondary & Tertiary Healthcare Facilities), Dr. Mairajuddin Shah (Medical Director, Aga Khan Hospital), Mr. Imran Shaukat (Assistant Director, PSQCA), Dr. Nadeem Ahmad (Project Director, Health Department, KP and Chairman TC on Primary Healthcare Facilities), Dr. Ashraf Chaudhry (Sr. Faculty Member, AIMC), Mr. Attiq ur Rahman (Director, PNAC), Dr. Haroon R. Khan (Pakistan Institute of Medical Sciences), Dr. Salman Farid (CEO/MD, Liaquat National Hospital), Dr. Anees Qureshi (Addl. Director, Punjab Health Commission), Dr. Alford Dube and Dr. Eva Tezcan (Consultants, GIZ Pakistan)