Press statement of the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Islamabad


Press statement
of the
Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Islamabad
on the Nuclear Security Summit 2014
Wednesday, March 19th at 3 pm
Serena hotel, Gulmit Hall

The Third Nuclear Security Summit
On 24 and 25 March 2014, the Netherlands will host in The Hague the third Nuclear Security Summit (NSS). Leaders from 53 countries and four international organisations (the EU, the IAEA, INTERPOL and the UN) will participate. The Netherlands is pleased that Prime Minister Sharif will participate. President Obama initiated the Summits when he highlighted nuclear terrorism as “the most immediate and extreme threat to global security (Prague 2009).” The first Summit took place in Washington (2010). South Korea hosted the second Summit in Seoul in 2012.

Aims of the Nuclear Security Summits
The Summits seek to prevent nuclear terrorism around the world by ensuring the security of dangerous nuclear materials. The threat is urgent and real with terrorists stating their desire to use nuclear weapons.
Terrorists or other criminals need relatively small amounts to manufacture a nuclear explosive device.

The most difficult hurdle to building a bomb is acquiring sufficient quantities of these materials. The Summits, by uniquely assembling world leaders, are an accelerated effort to secure those materials.

Effective nuclear security requires international cooperation. The greatest risk is when countries do not recognize the threat of nuclear terrorism and do not take preventive action. The Summits have created a better understanding of the risks and the likely consequences of nuclear terrorism. Countries realize that no country working alone can protect itself from the threat. The Summits have been successful in boosting national efforts to secure nuclear materials and take cooperative measures. Anticipated Results of the 2014 Summit The Summit in The Hague will build on the results of the previous two Summits. At the Summit, the international community will review the progress made since 2012 and discuss the way ahead.

The following outcomes are expected as results of the 2014 NSS:
– Further reductions to the amount of dangerous nuclear material that can be used to produce nuclear weapons and fewer places where they are stored;
– Improvements to the security of nuclear material, nuclear installations and radiological sources;
– Improved and further strengthening of international cooperation in the field of nuclear security.

The results of the third summit will be made public in the The Hague Nuclear Security Summit Communiqué, in which the leaders will jointly set out the progress achieved so far, what still needs to be done and define the way ahead. Countries will provide insight into steps they have taken to strengthen nuclear security through national progress reports. New joint initiatives will also be announced. It will also emphasize the importance of cooperation between governments and the nuclear industry.

The NSS and Pakistan

The Netherlands is grateful for the constructive and committed engagement of Pakistan to the NSS process. Throughout, the top government representatives from Pakistan and the Netherlands who are involved in developing the Summit Communiqué, have been in close touch. Pakistan, with its nuclear security experience and nuclear assets, is an important participant in the Summits which require ideas and active ontributions to improve measures to secure dangerous nuclear material, both at the national and international level. Pakistan’s establishment of a Nuclear Security Training Center (NSTC) is an example of an important step Pakistan has taken through the Summit process to improve nuclear security at home and in the region.

Factsheet Nuclear Security Summit

The third Nuclear Security Summit will be hosted by the Netherlands and is scheduled to take place in The Hague March 24-25, 2014. Fifty-three countries and four international organizations will participate (see below for list of participating countries and international organizations).
The Hague Summit will build on the results of the previous two Summits, focusing on reducing stockpiles
of hazardous nuclear material around the world, better securing nuclear material and intensifying international cooperation.
The NSS will not discuss nuclear disarmament, non-proliferation, nor will it debate the pros and cons of nuclear energy or protecting nuclear enterprises from natural disasters.

As was the case with the two prior Summits, extensive preparations and consultations among senior-level experts from each participating country are being held in the run-up to the 2014 Summit. These experts, known as sherpas and sous-sherpas, meet to develop consensus on the priorities and specific actions that will ultimately form the basis of the commitments made by world leaders in the Summit Communiqué. For the 2014 Summit, this process began in November 2012, with the first preparatory meeting held in Istanbul, and will end with a final meeting in The Hague just prior to the Summit in March.
Two other events on nuclear security are occurring before and in parallel to the NSS. The Nuclear Knowledge Summit (, taking place from 20 to 22 March 2014 in Amsterdam, will convene over 200 policy and technical experts on nuclear security as well as nongovernmental representatives from around the world (including eight Pakistani experts). The Nuclear Industry Summit (, taking place on 23 and 24 March also in Amsterdam, will gather about 200 CEOs from across nuclear industry (including representatives from PAEC). Additionally, in February 2014, the Dutch government organized @tomic, a table-top exercise on decisionmaking in the event of an incident of nuclear terrorism. Pakistan participated in this exercise as an observer.
53 Countries: Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Gabon, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, the Philippines, Poland, the Republic of Korea, Romania, the Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, the United States, and Vietnam
4 International Organizations: The European Union, the International Atomic Energy Agency, Interpol, and the United Nations